Trying Something New Every Day

Standard

In August of 2013, I moved from Petaluma, California to Jacksonville, Florida. I recently went home for the first time since moving all the way across the country and a lot of people asked me what I do in my free time (which is pretty abundant) and what life is like in Florida. I suppose these are pretty basic inquiries, but I found myself with very little to say. The truth is, I am a homebody; perfectly content to just hang out in my apartment all day and watch Netflix or browse the internet most of the time. In contrast, I’m also an adventure-seeker. That side of me is a little lost here in Florida. Maybe it’s because I don’t have my best friend, Ashleigh, to accompany me on impulsive shenanigans, or maybe it’s because I’m facing the reality of paying bills and trying to figure out how to be an adult, or maybe it’s the humidity, but I haven’t really been my old self here. I’ve been changing and hopefully growing and have, in fact, been on some adventures, but I think I’ve also been hiding. From what, I’m not really sure. Today, as I sat in my apartment browsing the internet, I decided I need to make a conscious effort to have new experiences. So I have decided that I am going to try something new every day, no matter how small. Trying a new restaurant (there are a lot more options out here, even if they are severely lacking decent Mexican food and In N Out), seeing something I’ve never seen, cooking something I’ve never cooked, Β or climbing a mountain I’ve never climbed (obviously this one is a metaphor; I live in flat, flat Florida), I am going to have a new experience every day. I’m sort of already prone to trying new things, but I’m finding myself in need of a push to escape my comfort zone. This little blog here will serve as a sort of journal of the new things I try and will hopefully serve as a way of updating interested parties on my life here in Florida.

Today I went to Jacksonville Arboretum & Gardens. I’ve been meaning to go there for months (this is why I have to do this little project…mission…quest…thing) and for whatever reason hadn’t. I picked the absolutely perfect day to go. The weather was perfect in the low 70’s and the humidity wasn’t bad at all. The sky was so blue, the clouds that jump-on-me-right-now kind of fuffy. There is a man-made lake, a creek, and two marshes at the Arboretum, which obviously also has some really beautiful trees. It was so peaceful; just the perfect place to find myself worshiping the Lord for all he has made and is doing in my life. A lot of people have told me that they want to come visit, and there aren’t a lot of places I know to take them, but I found myself excited to share this place with everyone. It’s more of a walk than a hike (I want to see mountains again, Gandalf), but I didn’t think I’d find any place like it here and I can see myself spending a lot of time there. This was also my first time ever going on a hike alone, and while I missed hiking with Melanie the Secret Botanist, I found I really liked being able to take my time to soak in my surroundings and appreciate everything.

20140127_14164320140127_13452320140127_14003620140127_14262720140127_145745

I’m really excited about this thing I’m doing here and that Ashleigh has decided to join me. I encourage others to do this with us, too, especially if you are in your twenties and trying to figure out who you are. Let me know what new things you’re trying!

4 thoughts on “Trying Something New Every Day

  1. Since I’m home and bored and lonely because everybody left, I joined http://www.meetup.com/ and braved my first event last week. It was great! Everyone on the website is clearly trying to make new friends, which means they’re all friendly and welcoming. I highly recommend it, especially since other people plan events that will help get you out of your comfort zone. And I’m right there with ya, in the homebody camp! Excited to read about your adventures. ❀

Leave a comment